Top 5 Star Wars Games

Hey ya’ll! Star Wars month wraps this week so I’m going to be looking back at my top five favorite Star Wars games of all time.

 

republic-commando-screenshot2-2400x1200-418611584044.jpg

5. Republic Commando

Star Wars: Republic Commando is a first person tactical shooter that places you in control of a squadron of elite Clone Troopers as they embark on more and more dangerous missions. It’s, in my opinion, one of the coolest games set in the Star Wars universe. The game holds up like nobodies business and is still a blast to play this day. It’s a shame this game never got a sequel as it one of the most fascinating experiments in the Star Wars gaming cannon.

 

dark forces 2

4. Dark Forces 2: Jedi Knight

Dark Forces 2: Jedi Knight will forever hold a soft spot in my heart as it was one of my first Star Wars games I had ever played and it introduced me to Kyle Katarn and the expanded universe. Until this game I had no idea there were a series of stories set after Return of the Jedi. The shooting was a blast and it was a genuine thrill getting a hold of your lightsaber for the first time. The game may not have aged well but it, along with it’s sequels Jedi Knight II and Jedi Knight Academy will always hold a place in my heart as the games that put me on to the E.U and one of my favorite Star Wars characters.

sw3.jpg

 

3. Lego Star Wars: The Complete Saga

Lego Star Wars is just a pure joy. I remember it fondly because it was a game me and my little brothers bonded over. The gameplay was easy enough for them to get through it and the Star Wars setting was enough to keep me interesting. Not to mention I’m a sucker for a good sight gag and this game was chock full of them. It’s the originator of the long running and now successful Lego formula but in 2005, I remember how fresh and how surprising this game felt.

kotor.jpg

2. Knight of the Old Republic

Now, I know for many, Kotor would be their number one Star Wars game, if not out right their number one game of all time.  I do concede that this game is a masterpiece. It manages to be an fun, satisfying RPG in addition to being a thoughtful addition to the Star Wars universe. It explores a complete uncharted period of time in the Star Wars universe yet it still manages to feel unabashedly Star Wars. Filled with a memorable cast of characters and a genuinely engrossing plot and you have yourself without a doubt the best single player Star Wars game to ever do the damn thing.

Star-Wars-Battlefront-2-PC

1. Star Wars: Battlefront II (2005)

Star WarsBattlefront II is without a doubt the Star Wars game I spent the most time playing. It was the first shooter I ever played obsessively. I would spend hours, whole Saturday’s, playing this game.  There was something so satisfying about being able to participate in the epic battles that were often at the opening and closing of a Star Wars film. Most Star Wars game up to this point were about becoming a jedi, being a jedi, going on very linear quests. Which I loved, obviously by my number 2 pick, but something about being able to wage large scale war, on ground and in space in the Star Wars universe just held my fascination like nothing else. The satisfaction I would get from engaging in a dog fight with a tie-fighter was unexplained. Battlefront II gave me what I never knew wanted, to be a foot soldier in a galaxy far, far away.

So there you have it folks, those are my five favorite Star Wars games. Agree? Disagree? Something you can’t believe I missed? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment